top of page

Bring me Giants - I feel too strong to war with mortals. BRING ME GIANTS.


The concept of BRING ME GIANTS by James Barbour "It came about as I was sitting with a dear friend of mine talking about my views on life and that of thriving in the face of adversity and obstacles. She suggested that I record a CD with that message behind it. There are hundreds of great songs but why put them on a specific CD and what songs to chose? As I thought about all the potential songs I could have placed on a CD and ultimately why I would include them, one common denominator became clear. Thriving.

I looked at the various roles I’ve played in my career and they almost all had a similar through line. Each character in some way faced and overcame adversity to reach a greater perspective on themselves and thus life in general. And almost all of those characters were based on a literary figure so BRING ME GIANTS was born.

BRING ME GIANTS comprises songs taken from musicals based on some of our greatest literary works with each song chosen for it’s specific content, popularity and overall meaning.

I try to take massive action in my life for only with action can we actually accomplish things. Otherwise we sit in stasis, not moving, stuck and nothing stays static forever. Action is the only way to make anything happen. I chose this quote because I try to live my life with this outlook. I take on life and live it to my fullest potential. It’s a journey that should be filled with adventure. LIVE IT! THRIVE!

Reviews: "This CD is evidence that James Barbour has -- quite possibly -- the most beautiful voice ever bestowed on man by God. He is supremely expressive, the width of his range is almost uncanny, and his instrument is unmatched in richness and power. Combine such obvious skill and talent with these superb song choices and winning arrangements, and you have an outstanding album. Most of the songs are rare gems from less-known or hard to find shows, making this recording even more important. There's not a weak song in the bunch. You will enjoy it, and you will likely want to share it with your friends. It may get you to read or re-read a classic novel or two. It might even really lift your spirits."

"James Barbour's voice is absolutely thrilling on this album. A song will start off softly and then build to a powerful heart-stopping finale. I keep asking myself where did this gorgeous voice come from. What a gift he has!"

"The first time I heard James Barbour sing was as Sydney Carton in the Broadway musical, A Tale of Two Cities. His voice brought tears to my eyes. I often attend Broadway musicals but, I have yet to hear such a magnificent voice."

"This album is an amazing example of James Barbour's vocal abilities. The power and control that he has over his instrument is also very seldom matched."

"James Barbour not only has an amazing voice, he is a master of interpreting songs so they have an emotional impact."

Reviews at Amazon.com

Track 1 Dennis De Young's "Who Will Love this Child?" HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME.

Track 2 "The Longer I Live" from Frank Wildhorn's DRACULA.

Track 3's duet of "I Will be There" with Morgan James.

Track 4: "Loving You Keeps Me Alive" from DRACULA.

Track 5 "If Ever I would Leave You" from CAMELOT.

Track 6 "Music of the Night" from PHANTOM OF THE OPERA.

Track 7 With a unique arrangement of "Bring Him Home" from LES MISERABLES.

Track 8 "This is the Moment" from JECKYL AND HYDE.

Track 9: "The Impossible Dream" from MAN OF LA MANCHA.

Track 10 is "Bring Me Giants" from CYRANO.

Track 11 "I Can't Recall" from A TALE OF TWO CITIES

Produced and Arranged by Jeremy Roberts

Keyboard: Jeremy Roberts

Guitars: Bernd Schoenhart

Solo Cello: Stephanie Cummins

Valhalla Symphonia Conducted by Jeremy Roberts

Protography by Jessica Pettyjohn

"I Iwould like to dedicate this CD to my mother, Sally Barbour, whom I lost in 2005" ... James Barbour

Lyrics for Bring Me Giants by James Barbour

I am a force, a source of light.

I shine too bright for mere mortals

And in time I'll claim the right

To take my place with the immortals and the gods

Odds are in the gods will and all will deign to agree

That Valhalla's where Bergerac will be.

I am the fire, I am the flame.

I am the pinnacle of fame

Opponents quake at my name

Bring me giants.

I am the tree, I am the wind I am the song, I am the hymn.

I represent freedom's symbol: defiance

Bring me giants.

I am a warrior and a poet

The two are not unrelated.

Though different gods may each bestow it

The purest joy is created by them both.

Loth as I am to choose war over art

There's a passion for both in my heart!

I am the source, I am the spring

I am the eagle on the wing

And when my plume's in the ring

Bring me giants.

I am the beginning and the end

And I call destiny my friend.

There is no surer bravura alliance

Bring me giants.

Forthright and fearless

Perfect and peerless in chivalry.

When fate calls for a hero I know the hero will be me.

I am the pride, I am the power, I am the strength, I am the tower.

No foe I cannot devour

Bring me giants.

I am the sun, I am the stone, I'm not afraid to stand alone.

I made courage my own brand of science

Bring me giants.

Bring me thunder

Bring me lightening

Bring me all things that are frightening.

Bring me phantoms, I'll enjoy them.

Bring me monsters I'll destroy them.

Bring me giants.

bottom of page