top of page

Nightmare Alley

Nightmare Alley is a novel by William Lindsay Gresham published in 1946. It is a study of the lowest depths of showbiz and its sleazy inhabitants – the dark, shadowy world of a second rate carnival filled with hustlers, scheming grifters, and Machiavellian femmes fatales. The musical opened on 21 April 2010 at the Geffen Playhouse in Los Angeles.

After a couple of workshops of the show, a creative team was assembled and a cast of actors chosen.

In the title role of Stanton Carlisle is the very talented, very tall James Barbour.

After a warm greeting, we settle in to talk. Barbour hails from Cherry Hill, New Jersey. His family was originally from Barbourville, North Carolina. “Most of the people living in the town were either Barbours or Easons (the other side of the family), he says. ‘So I guess that’s why they named the town Barbourville.” Just the kind of town the Carney travelling show might have passed through.

They worked in tobacco farming, Barbour says. They were just country folk trying to make a living. “My grandfather left farming and opened a dry cleaning store in Raleigh. After World War II, my father worked for Sears Roebuck for nearly 50 years. You know, I remember my father telling me he worked as hard as he did so that I wouldn’t have to. That plan didn’t really pan out.” Barbour laughs.

He graduated from Hofstra University. “I wanted to be an astronaut or an archeologist,” he says. “Well, it makes perfect sense because it involves exploration and excavation which is exactly what I have to do in my work as an actor.”

How did Barbour get involved with Nightmare Alley? “I had a meeting with Gil and Jonathan and I said, upfront, I had a lot going on with other projects and Gil barked, ‘Turn ’em down. You’ve gotta do this show.’ And here I am.”

The role seems to live in Barbour’s own power alley with big songs, big emotions and a strong presence. “Yeah, I call them my dark, brooding guy roles,” he says. “It’s an interesting character. I had seen the movie starring Tyrone Power. The difference between the show and the movie is that one ends on a note of reconciliation and the other one doesn’t. I won’t say which one is which. Oh, and one stars Tyrone Power and the other one doesn’t.”

The whole interview here: @This StageMagazine

"Barbour, who won accolades for his work in "A Tale of Two Cities," has a big voice and real presence as Stan. He growls his way through the role, vaguely channeling Russell Crowe, and is at his best when he gives himself over to his charlatan persona. " Los Angeles Times

Interview with Gerald Sternbach, Musical Director - some sneak peak of James Barbour.

bottom of page